How Is the Poet Laureate Selected?

We are not currently accepting nominations for the poet laureate.

Nomination Process

The Governor requests for the review process to begin and a review committee is formed. A public call for nominations goes out and qualified nominees are invited to apply. The review committee reads and discusses each application and arrives at a recommendation which is carried forward to the Governor’s office by representatives from the Oregon Cultural Trust and Oregon Humanities. The Governor’s office selects and screens the finalist and confirms the appointment. A public statement is made celebrating the new Oregon Poet Laureate and they begin their two year term in the role.

How to Nominate a Poet

Anyone can nominate a poet they see as a qualified and good candidate for the role. Poets may nominate themselves. Please review the criteria to determine if the person you wish to nominate meets the criteria for nomination (see below).

Application Process

Once nominated, poets meeting the eligibility criteria are invited to submit a full application. 

Review Process

An independent review committee composed of poets, poetry advocates, literature lovers, and cultural leaders will review each nomination and consider the merits of each nominee related to the criteria. The review committee will discuss the top candidates, create a report to the Oregon Cultural Trust, and make a recommendation regarding the laureate to the Governor. The Governor will appoint the eleventh Oregon Poet Laureate in the summer of 2024.

Review Criteria

Oregon’s Poet Laureate must be committed to bringing poetry to a wide range of places and people, have a significant body of publicly accessible work, agree to the period of the appointment, and be prepared to undertake a significant cultural project and the public role required of the laureate. Poets of all genres and styles will be considered.

Nominee Requirements:

  • be current residents of Oregon
  • have lived in Oregon for at least ten years (time spent in out-of-state artist residencies during those ten years are accepted, as long as nominee maintained Oregon as their home state)
  • be publicly recognized as poets and well regarded for excellence in their work
  • have a significant body of published and/or performed work
  • agree to the conditions and the two-year term of appointment

Poet Laureate Compensation

The Poet Laureate will receive an honorarium of $15,000 per year during the term of service. Each term is two years. In addition, the planned activities and travel for the Poet Laureate will be supported through an annual travel subsidy of up to $10,000. The Poet Laureate will participate in a minimum of ten public readings/events in urban and rural settings across the state. These funds are managed and administered by Oregon Humanities.

Questions? Contact Lucy Solares-Steger, program coordinator, at